Welcome to the

19th International

Real-Time Ada Workshop

IRTAW 2018


18-20 April 2018

Hotel Voramar

Benicàssim, Spain

Preliminary Call for Papers

Since the late Eighties the International Real-Time Ada Workshop series has provided a forum for identifying issues with real-time system support in Ada and for exploring possible approaches and solutions, and has attracted participation from key members of the research, user, and implementer communities worldwide. Recent International Real-Time Ada Workshop meetings have contributed to the Ada 2005 and Ada 2012 standards, especially with respect to the tasking features, the real-time and high-integrity systems annexes, and the standardization of the Ravenscar Tasking Profile.

In keeping with this tradition, the goals of the 19th edition of IRTAW will be to:

  • Review the current status of the Ada 2012 Issues that are related with the support of real-time systems;
  • Examine experiences in using Ada for the development of real-time systems and applications, especially, but not exclusively, those using concrete implementation of the new Ada 2012 real-time features;
  • Report on or illustrate implementation approaches for the real-time features of Ada 2012; Consider the added value of developing other real-time Ada profiles in addition to the Ravenscar profile;
  • Examine the implications to Ada of the growing use of multiprocessors in the development of real-time systems, particularly with regard to predictability, robustness, and other extra-functional concerns;
  • Examine and develop paradigms for using Ada for real-time distributed systems, with special emphasis on robustness as well as hard, flexible and application-defined scheduling;
  • Consider the definition of specific patterns and libraries for real-time systems development in Ada;
  • Identify how Ada relates to the certification of safety-critical and/or security-critical real-time systems;
  • Examine the status of the Real-Time Specification for Java and other languages for real-time systems development, and consider user experience with current implementations and with issues of interoperability with Ada in embedded real-time systems;
  • Consider the lessons learned from industrial experience with Ada and the Ravenscar Profile in actual real-time projects;
  • Consider the language vulnerabilities of the Ravenscar and full language definitions;
  • Consider testing for compliance with the Real-Time Annex.

Participation at the 19th IRTAW is by invitation following the submission of a position paper addressing one or more of the above topics or related real-time Ada issues. Alternatively, anyone wishing to receive an invitation, but for one reason or another is unable to produce a position paper, may send in a one-page position statement indicating their interests. Priority will, however, be given to those submitting papers.

Submission Requirements

Position papers should not exceed ten pages in typical IEEE conference layout, excluding code inserts. All accepted papers will appear, in their final form, in the Workshop Proceedings, which will be published as a special issue of Ada Letters (ACM Press). Selected papers will also appear in the Ada User Journal.

Authors with a relevant paper under consideration at the 23rd International Conference on Reliable Software Technologies - Ada-Europe 2018 (deadline 24 January, 2018) may offer an extended abstract of the same material to IRTAW.

Please submit position papers, in PDF format, to the Program Chair by e-mail: brad.moore@shaw.ca

Important Dates

  • Paper Submission: 4 February, 2018 14 February, 2018
  • Notification of Acceptance: 23 February, 2018
  • Confirmation of Attendance: 9 March, 2018
  • Final Paper Due: 30 March, 2018
  • Workshop: April 18-20, 2018

Program Chair

Brad Moore, General Dynamics Mission Systems, Canada

Workshop Chair

Jorge Real, Universitat Politècnica de València, Spain

Program Committee Members

Mario Aldea Rivas

John Barnes

Ben Brosgol

Alan Burns

Michael González-Harbour

Kristoffer Gregertsen

José Javier Gutiérrez

Stephen Michell

Brad Moore

Luís Miguel Pinho

Juan Antonio de la Puente

Jorge Real

Pat Rogers

José F. Ruiz

Sergio Sáez

Joyce Tokar

Tullio Vardanega

Andy Wellings

Rod White